Precinct1313 Celebrates One Year With: Bruce’s Birthday Blowout!

comic bubble 1

So who is this Bruce person you ask… that actually is my alter ego, or secret identity if we’re talking Superheroes (and that’s exactly what we do here!!). You probably know me better as ArcaneHalloween, my nom de plume, a bit like Bruce Wayne is to Batman… but nowhere near as cool, obviously!

And here we are, one year in and I am still as dedicated to bringing the world of DC Comics and other assorted things I love to the universe as a whole. I originally started this site as a way to showcase my sketches and stories that I progress with on a daily basis, yet to date I have not featured one piece of my work here. This blog has actually now become devoted to the various fantasy worlds that I revel in on a day to day basis… and Wonder Woman, lots of Wonder Woman.

WW 1313

First and foremost allow me to thank each and every person that has taken the time to read my various musings over this past year, and extra special thanks go to all the amazing people who have clicked that ‘Follow’ button, I am honoured that you have enjoyed my posts enough to want to return on a regular basis. The support I have had from the blogging community here on WordPress has been phenomenal and I look forward to continue interacting with all of you for many aeons to come!

So in celebration of our one year anniversary, we are going to share what have become our most popular posts over the past year.

Some of our more recent followers may not realise that we actually do have a second author that resides here in the Precinct, though time constraints means he cannot create as much content as he would like. He has though written two of the most popular posts for Precinct1313 so far. Ragey (or Pete, in the real world) concentrates his posts mainly on video-games and cosplay, and our first offering from him is; My Cosplay. This has become the second most popular post for the Precinct to date, and in recognition of one year of this website, Ragey will be returning later today with his long awaited follow up to this piece.

B and WW party crash!!

Ragey’s next most viewed offering was; Euro Gamer Expo 2014   An extremely entertaining post about the UK’s biggest annual gaming conference (and boy was I jealous of not being there too!).

Though I mainly write about comics, both new and retro, I occasionally also review the odd movie here and there, and by far the most viewed of these reviews so far has been; Solomon Kane  The film is a fantastic representation of the classic character created by novelist, Robert E. Howard in 1928, and is well worth seeking out.

Now this next piece is fairly unique for Precinct1313, in that it’s the only time I wrote a post that was negative. You see, I only write about things I love, there is (let’s be honest) enough negativity in the world without me adding to it, but this particular piece was written just after I discovered that one of my favourite movies of all time (Escape From New York) was being given the “Hollywood remake” treatment, which basically means it’s going to be crap! So in reaction to this I posted; Call Me Snake!  To date the only (fairly minor) rant I have ever actually posted!

Wonder_Woman

 

A little over 3 months ago, I started writing what has become, a very popular weekly post called: Classic Wonder Woman. Each week I would choose an outstanding comic from the past, and write a synopsis on the plot and also include some rarer facts about the amazing Amazon, her extended family and the world she lives in. All this is done as part of a weekly countdown to Diana’s 75th anniversary, in December 2016 (so plenty more posts to come!) As previously mentioned, this has become a great source for views each week, with by far the most popular so far being; Classic Wonder Woman: Wonder Woman # 216.

And lastly, the two posts that between them have garnered the most views in the Precinct so far are; Rorschach’s Quote Of The Week  and; The Watchmen: Rorschach  It seems whenever I write anything about the Watchmen’s angry masked vigilante, it gets a ton of views. So more posts about everyone’s favourite Watchman shall be forthcoming!

So thank you once more friends for taking the time to visit, view, and comment on our posts, it is very much appreciated. And please allow me to finish with a slightly revised version of this classic quote from Roman philosopher Cicero, “A world without comic books, is like a body without soul!” 
Batmo

 

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on June 12, 2015, in Other stuff... and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. One year already?! Wow, time flies by when you’re having fun!
    Here’s to lots more fun to come! Great work as always.
    Maybe I shld write about th Amazonian and Rorschach, then my blog wldn’t be so lonely & neglected!
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your first year! ☆〜(ゝ。∂)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

