Precinct1313 Recommends: Shazam – A Celebration Of 75 Years

shazam 2

(DC Comics, 1940 – 2015)

This year celebrate 75 years in the company of the World’s mightiest mortal… Shazam! That’s right comic fans, the Superhero formerly known as Captain Marvel is now officially as old as Batman and Superman. So to coincide with the septuagenarian Superheroes’ anniversary, DC Comics are releasing a hardcover anthology containing some of his greatest adventures from the past seven and a half decades.

Shazam (Captain Marvel) was created by C.C. Beck and Bill Parker in 1940, and made his first appearance in Whiz Comics #2. Shazam himself is actually the wizard who bestows upon the 12 year old Billy Batson the power to become the adult Superhero Captain Marvel by just uttering the mystical phrase “SHAZAM!”. Β Alongside his extended family, sister Mary Marvel and Captain Marvel Junior he fights crime and his nemesis, former holder of the Shazam title… Black Adam.

Shazam 1

The Shazam anthology hardcover will be available in April from your local comic-book emporium, with interior art by various artists including co-creator C.C. Beck, with stories by Denny O’Neil, Geoff Johns, Otto Binder and many more. Weighing in at generous 400 pages, this is a must buy for any fans of the World’s mightiest mortal and anyone considering discovering him for the very first time.

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on February 28, 2015, in Comics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. I just might HAVE to get this. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes indeed good sir, me too. I do like the character (he’ll always be Captain Marvel to me though, not ‘Shazam’) I actually don’t have very much of his stuff in my collection. Though I do have quite a few Mary Marvel comics and action figures.

      Like

  2. SASS-A-FR-ASS

    Hard to believe at time’s just how long these fantastic characters have been around.
    I’d love to get this book for my father. Back in his day “super heroes ” bordered on being weird. At least that’s what he’s told me. He had every first edition comic book for character’s and model’s from the 50’s but his mother threw them out!
    Wishing you and Salem a good day/evening mon ami! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Sass, hope you are well mon ami! Shazam is one of the originals, along with Bats, Supes, the Flash and of course Wondy. This would make a wonderful gift for your Dad I believe, especially with the Shazam movie coming out in 2017. Have a fantastic day now. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        I’m happy I found your post today as I think my Dad would love it. He used to paint some kind of plastic characters like the Swampman and I forget what else when he was a kid. I’ve been trying to find him a similar old tin lunchbox he had with either Batman or Spiderman, cannot remember which..
        I’m off to bed so have a great night if you are still awake or a great sleep my friend. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • I bought a Batman tin lunchbox on Amazon a couple of years ago, it wasn’t too expensive either, check with them if you haven’t already Sassy. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        Thanks!! My father is in his late 60s I think. ( We never keep track of birthdays for some reason.)
        Based on his approximate age, what year would you suggest I start looking for? I could just ask him which lunch box he had but then he’d catch on to what I’m up to.
        I always knew my father was artsy and stuff like that but I never really realized just how amazing he is until recently. So besides hopefully taking him to see England someday, I’ve been looking for little way’s such as finding him a lunch box to make him smile. πŸ™‚
        I have told him about your amazing story and making your own comic book series and his eye’s light up. In fact on occasion he will ask how “the comic book artist ” is coming along. πŸ™‚
        On another note, I’ve cleared my blog SASS-A-FR-ASS of everything except beauty related stuff for potential work sponsors but my new blog with humor, scribbles, and all of that kind of stuff will be moving to IT’S A SASS-A-FIED LIFE. (This isn’t my eventual 18+ blog) It’s already up and running but no post’s as of yet. I wish there was a way I could move all of my already written content to the new blog. It quite sucks that I have to divide the two but I need the extra potential income.
        Hope Salem and yourself are having a great evening! πŸ™‚

        (I have a feeling I may have just written you a book.. πŸ˜€ )

        Liked by 1 person

      • Considering his age, you should look at classic golden and silver age heroes, Batman, Superman are really the prime examples of the most popular characters from those eras. Salem is well thank you my friend. Have yourself a most awesome day Sassy. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        Hmmm… I’m going to guess he’s a Batman person then. πŸ™‚
        Maybe I’ll look for a vintage Wonder Woman one to carry some of my handcrafting supplies in! πŸ˜‰
        And thank you for the well wishes!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        IT’S A SASS-A-FR-ASSED LIFE. (WHOOPS!)

        Liked by 1 person

  3. lot of 75th year of celebration it seems πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

