New Comics Spotlight: Aquaman #39

aquaman #39

(DC Comics, 2015)

Welcome friends to another new comics Wednesday, and today’s spotlight falls on the man from Atlantis himself… Aquaman, in honour of the unveiling of Jason Momoa as everyone’s favourite sea bound Superhero this week. I don’t normally buy Aquaman on a regular basis, I love the character don’t get me wrong, but my regular comic buying is already on overload and there are only so many hours in a day, or money in my wallet. But when the aforementioned picture of Jason Momoa was tweeted to the world earlier this week by director Zack Snyder, I felt the need to immerse myself (pun most definitely intended!) in the sunken world of Atlantis once more.

aquaman 39

And what a fantastic issue to buy on impulse, as our titular hero finds that his long lost Mother Atlanna, once Queen of Atlantis is alive and well, and alongside his wife Mera he tracks her down only to be attacked by her assembled forces. A surprisingly poignant issue, well handled by writer Jeff Parker with some absolutely stunning interior art by Paul Pelletier and Sean Parsons. This issue forms an important chapter in Aquaman’s New 52 reboot, in fact the comic was so absorbing visually and verbally that I found myself perusing back issues from this new run, and will probably end up buying the series on a more regular basis. I was even more pleased to be able to get hold of the variant cover by the always amazing Amanda Conner, the alternate cover is part of this month’s Harley Quinn variant month.

aquaman #39 variant

Aquaman #39 is available right now at your local comic-book emporium with cover and interior art by Paul Pelletier and Sean Parsons. Alternate Harley Quinn cover by Amanda Conner. Written by Jeff Parker.

Precinct1313 Rating: 4 Long Lost Queens Of Atlantis Out Of 5.

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on February 25, 2015, in Comics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Wow! This looks great… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That artwork with Aquaman and Harley Quinn looks incredible. Love how the sunset is behind Aquaman making the whole work a masterpiece. Awesome artist!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. SASS-A-FR-ASS

    Fantastic artwork!! ADORE it!
    ( I came across an older Captain America comic book in Spain last night while working on eBay. The cover was signed but the signature isn’t one I am familiar with. Not that I’m familiar with very many but it looked really intriguing. And if the signature is of value the seller doesn’t know it..)

    Liked by 1 person

    • BUY it! And give it to me! Please.

      Liked by 2 people

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        After supper I’ll go back and screenshot it then upload it for you guy’s.
        Maybe you’ll recognize it. The signature that is.. I cannot remember how much the guy was selling it for but I almost did buy it. Thought was if it’s worth something I’d use rafflecopter and do a give away. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Interesting, not personally a C.America fan, but if it’s a Jack Kirby then it is worth a pretty penny, Jack Kirby is the man!

        Liked by 1 person

      • SASS-A-FR-ASS

        Me either. But the signatures caught my attention. Turns out I cannot afford to buy it myself this month but maybe someone will. My gut tell’s me it’s worth something and my gut is usually right when it comes to most thing’s… 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

