Batman v Superman: Dawn Of The Critics…

 

 

critics

Well it’s finally here, after close to three years of (indescribably torturous) waiting, Batman v Superman finally releases, to rapturous applause from the fans (currently sitting at 8.0 0n IMDB) but (surprise, surprise) hated on by many movie critics.

Now then, before we start on this (ever so slight) rant, let’s get some perspective on the matter. 1. It does not matter what other people think, all that really matters is what YOU think, if you find the movie enjoyable then… awesome. 2. A critic is literally just giving their opinion, in the great scheme of things their opinion does not affect your ability to love something, and in no way are critics right (or wrong) in their opinion… it is still just that, their opinion.

10484920_10153972069903926_1359658133649515430_n

DC Comics invented the female Superhero, Wonder Woman’s inclusion in Batman v Superman is extremely important to the genre because not only is she able to match the male heroes, she can easily surpass them. Gal Gadot’s almost flawless appearance as the Amazing Amazon will help propel the industry to create more movies with strong female leads, which is fantastic and long overdue. Diversity is a good thing folks, so hurrah for DC and Zack Snyder… but are the critics applauding this? no, because… DC!

Ok, let’s get this out of the way right now… yes I am a DC fanatic, and no I don’t read Marvel comics (well that’s not completely true, I do actually occasionally buy ‘The Punisher’) but I don’t hate Marvel, I just grew up loving DC’s characters and worlds and never personally found Marvel’s heroes and villains anywhere near as engaging (apart from the aforementioned Frank Castle, of course) But I do not actively bash others for their love of something, I have no right to do that… to each their own is my mantra friends.

Now then, with all that said, I have noticed over the past few years since the mountainous onslaught of cinematic comic-book adaptations, an inherent bias in the reviewing industry. There are now several websites that I avoid because of their actively transparent anti DC and Zack Snyder bias (allow me to clarify this point, this does not include any WordPressers, I am talking about corporate websites) of course, they have every right to bash, criticise and hate on something as much as they want (and I dutifully uphold that right) but I also have the right to not visit, read or subject myself to their opinions.

046762-christian-bale-as-batman

Movie critics are actively bashing Batman v Superman for being “too dark and gritty!” but applauded the (awesome) Dark Knight trilogy for the same thing!…  Mmmmm!?

Right now you may be thinking – “but, ArcaneHalloween, are you not a critic yourself seeing as you run a comic-book review website” and it’s a logical thought. The thing is though, I never, ever, review things I don’t love, Precinct1313 is dedicated to the appreciation of DC Comics and Cult movies not criticising, disparaging or belittling other people’s passions in life. In fact it’s thanks to the diversity of one person to another that we have so many distinct choices open to us when it comes to comic books, movies, music, et al…

The majority of featured reviews on aggregate websites such as – Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes have been almost uniformly scathing. And once again I do reserve their right to their opinion, but it seems that a lot of the critics either don’t seem to understand what makes a great comic-book or character adaptation, or have not really put a great deal of time and effort into maybe doing some research on the subject matter at hand before giving their opinion. “Too dark and gritty” is a common theme amongst many of these negative reviews, there is a reason for this Mr Critic, the comic-book storylines this particular movie are based upon are just that… Dark and Gritty (see here for details on that one friends) The same reviewers actively applauded Christopher Nolan for doing exactly this with his Dark Knight Trilogy.

It is definitely the case that a lot of critics went in with the preconceived notion of disliking the movie, based upon the trailers (which were mostly fantastic) plus a lack of inherent knowledge of the comics and the history of the main characters, and a dislike of its director’s previous films. One review in particular called out the film because, and I quote “Since when did Batman and Superman ever fight each other anyway, what a ridiculous premise they made up for this movie” I once again refer them to this piece here. Research reaps rewards Mr Critic.

One of the better reviews of the movie is ComicBookMovie.Com, which you can read right here a well informed non biased view of the film at hand, a great read.

ThD7QYb

Don’t be sad Bats, we still love ya!

“It’s not like the Marvel movies” is another favourite, and thank Zeus for that, not because I think the Marvel movies are bad, but because (as mentioned earlier) diversity is a good thing… variety is the spice of life folks.

And don’t get me started on the whole “Zack Snyder is untalented” nonsense, I refer you to this line… ‘Those who can, do… those who can’t, criticise.’  Snyder is a wonderful film maker, a visual auteur who loves the medium he works in, and this shines through in his fantastic movies. Remember this is the man who gave us the tremendous “300” and the (supposedly unfilmable) masterpiece that is “Watchmen” I guarantee, you sit any film critic down in a director’s chair and they would be bewildered by the amount of skill that is needed to create a movie, or craft a world through which millions of people will be breathlessly transported and lost to for two plus hours of their lives. Making movies is not easy Mr Critic, please stop trivialising it.

Now please understand I am not denigrating critics for their opinion on films or even saying they’re wrong, they have every right to them, but so do I and the millions of fans who just want to enjoy their chosen piece of fantasy mayhem. I think that since the inception of internet media, a lot more people put way too much in stock in what some random online critic says about a movie rather than just taking the time to judge it for themselves.

Critics criticise it’s what they do. Ignore the backlash, head to the cinema and judge the film on it’s own merits, and I guarantee you will have one hell of a good time for the two and a half hour run time, I mean who doesn’t want to see the two biggest Superheroes of all time throwdown in an intense battle royale! batman

Please feel free to agree or disagree about this in the comments, I would love to hear your reactions on not just this post, but also the film itself. 

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on March 26, 2016, in Comics, Comics in film and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Hear hear!
    I have seen some appalling reviews – th main criticism being that too much has been put in making DoJ convoluted & incoherent, but I WANT to SEE these 2 icons share th same movie, and curious to see how it introduces th Justice League.
    Mrs B & I will watch it during this followng wk and then I WILL report back next week w my own UNBIASED Review.
    Sounds like u had fun which is th main thing – no doubt u are praising Affleck as th definitive Bat of Gotham? 😉
    Good on yer Bruce – well written Post!
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for reading my friend, there really has been way too much criticism of the movie, Affleck’s Bats is the definitive version, no doubt! Have fun watching the movie and I look forward to your review. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed the movie. The more I think about it, the more I like it. Not everything, is great. I didn’t care for Jesse Eisenberg as Lex. I felt he was terribly miscast and his character poorly written and developed. I LOVED Affleck as Bats and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman. Henry Cavil I also really liked. The fight between Bats and Supes was great, as was the climatic battle at the end. I just pre-ordered the Ultimate cut of the movie on Amazon. I’m eager to see the 3 hour version. This set up the DCEU quite well, and it looks like it’ll make big bank which is good. I want MORE, and I can’t wait to see the JLA movie.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yay, I’m glad you enjoyed it good Sir. Affleck IS the Batman, thanks for reading as ever my friend, there have actually been a ton of good reviews for the film but they seem to have been swept under the carpet by places like Rotten Tomatoes and Metacritic. The BBC, Forbes magazine and Heroic Hollywood gave glowing reviews along with quite a few others, but it seems a lot of people prefer to latch onto just the negatives, the most important thing is that it’s going great guns at the box office! Suicide Squad here we come!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I wholeheartedly agree, sir! The main criticism these people seem to have is that it’s a film about comics, and on this occasion, the battle was fought without even the slightest hint of a cop-out. I LOVED it! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for reading Martin, yes indeed I agree with you it is the epitome of ‘a comic book movie’ I read an hilarious review earlier that said the movie had “too much story” how ridiculous, if it had been a shallow plot-less movie the critics would have been up in arms over that! poor old Zack Snyder just can’t seem to win.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I saw the first super man and bat man series from the 40’s a couple a week’s ago
    Great stuff

    Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Batman v Superman: Dawn Of Justice Review | precinct1313

  2. Pingback: Two Years In The Precinct… | precinct1313

Leave a Reply

