Happy Batman Day!

Bats gif

That’s right Batfans, today marks an important chapter in everyone’s life… Batman Day! Join DC Comics and millions of fans worldwide in celebrating the world’s most popular and significant cowled crimefighter. From the printed page through cinematic excursions and video game adaptations, the dark and scary one has been a major part of many peoples lives for over seven and a half decades. 

My first encounter with the Caped Crusader was when my Mum purchased me an issue of Detective Comics when I was a mere six years old, this was not only the first time I had ever read a Batman comic, but was in fact the first comic book I had ever read. I remember reading the issue a dozen times over in one sitting and was eager to divert more of my attention to this amazing hitherto unseen world that contained fantastical characters who really captured my young imagination in a way nothing else previously had. I have been a huge fan of the Dark Knight since that time, and my Mum still to this day will occasionally buy me the odd Batman comic or gift, and has, over the years become a huge Batfan herself (she especially loves Michael Keaton’s portrayal, but also really enjoyed the more recent Nolan films.)

#466

Detective Comics #466 marked my initial encounter with the masked manhunter, and told the tale of Batman’s clash with villain Signalman, not exactly an iconic member of Batman’s rogues gallery it has to be said, but it was my very first brush with a Supervillain. This amazingly nostalgic comic issue also introduced me to the fact that Batman shared a universe with other Superheroes, thanks to a very enjoyable back up story, that regaled the young me with the daring adventures of the Emerald Archer – Green Arrow

So a very happy Batman Day to you, my bodacious Bat brethren, and why not sound off in the comments below about your very first rendezvous with the Dark Knight, and what you will be doing to celebrate another year in the company of Gotham’s favourite guardian angel.

Batman Copyright: DC Comics.

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on September 26, 2015, in Comics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Happy Batman Day!! 🎉🎊
    Hope you have been well and give his Highness Salem a good scratch for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Sass, a very Happy Batman day to you too my friend. Salem says Hi, hope you are keeping well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Still alive and kicking *lol* thanks! 🙂
        I’ve some new family members so keep your eye’s peeled! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • New family members?, I am most intrigued.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes!! 😀
        I took it really hard when Big Mama my snalie & her companion DevilHawk the Beta died so have been avoiding my empty tank’s. Nothing will ever replace Big Mama but I came home with 5 new family members last night. (I wish the exciting news was that I got/adopted another Man Dog but not ready for that yet.) I am thinking of bringing my 300 gallon tank that’s sitting empty back home up here & get it running. If I do, I know exactly what delightful unique rare critters I’ll be stocking it with which I plan to blog each step & new additions. As for now, I think you’ll quite approve of my new children. 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Wow, 5 new family members!, I really look forward to seeing them my friend 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Name’s. I need some neat new name’s. One of my new family is a Assassin Snailie & they are just as bad ass as their name suggests. I was thinking of calling her Quinn. 😉
        Anyhoo you shall be seeing them soon my friend! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • How about naming them after Amazons Sass, Hippolyta or Persephone, Artemis, Hera, maybe Athena. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ooooo! You are good my friend!! I totally forgot about the many kickass ladies of the godly sort. 🙂 Thankoo to infinity!
        I need a manly name or two too. Was thinking NightRider to replace passed away Devil Hawk. This guy is jacked full of aggression so now that I think about it, NightRider doesn’t fit. There were some pretty badass manly gods so I definitely should keep the the mythology theme going! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe Heracles, Zeus, Perseus, Ares, Hephaestus, Hermes or Tartarus… all very cool names for a male. 🙂

        Like

  2. Well, did u have an awesome Baturday? 😉
    Bless your mum! Good of u to remember your 1st comic.
    I’ve been trying to recall what my 1st was. Despite my long interest in Marvel Comics, funnily enough I had more DC Comics in my collection!
    Pretty sure it was a DC title; It may have been an issue of Legion of Superheroes – was crazy about them at one time!
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

