The King Of Atlantis Revealed…

Aquaman

(Aquaman – DC Comics, 1941-2015)

Zack Snyder revealed through Twitter earlier, the first image of Jason Momoa as the King of Atlantis – Aquaman, and damn does he look awesome! Momoa is probably best remembered as the Dothraki warlord Khal Drogo from popular HBO series Game of Thrones. His casting by Snyder was a sublime choice, riding off the back of his very popular role in the George R.R. Martin adaptation, Momoa was born to play a Superhero of some kind, a physically imposing actor with fantastic dramatic range and skill.

Aquaman (real name Arthur Curry) was created in 1941 by Mort Weisinger and Paul Norris, his first appearance was in More Fun Comics #73. Arthur is the King of the mythical sunken city of Atlantis where he rules the Atlanteans alongside his wife Mera. The more I see of the upcoming characters of DC’s cinematic take on it’s iconic universe, the more excited I am becoming, and this reveal by Snyder today has ramped that up to stratospheric proportions! … 2016 cannot come soon enough for this particular DC fan.

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on February 20, 2015, in Comics, Comics in film and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Yes, interesting casting
    At least it’s not Wolfboy Tatum or Eddie Redmayne…
    http://bradscribe.wordpress.com/2015/02/20/jupiter-descending/
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. WHOO!! Perfect casting choice! Period.

    Liked by 2 people

    • indeed it is Sassy, Jason Momoa is the perfect choice for the King of Atlantis … cannot wait!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Although I preferred the book’s for the Game of Throne’s story, when the TV series hit a few year’s later I had to admit Jason Momoa played exactly how I pictured Kahl Drogo in my head. So it will be exciting to see him play the King of all King’s, Atlantis himself.
        Cannot wait either!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Never read the books personally, have only seen the TV show and read the first graphic novel. As you say though, it will be amazing to see him in the Aquaman movie!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed my friend! 😉
        Has Google News been checking you out again in your referrers? Which Congrats if they have! 🙂

        Like

      • Okay maybe a weird question especially as I used the word “again” lol.
        I noticed them in my referers for yesterday / today. The only connection I could find was you. (precinct1313) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • interesting, I don’t know. Will have to check it out Sassy. Just had a quick look and apparently so. interesting indeed! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • I finally figured out the connection as I found my Gravatar photo and yours. But for what I’m not sure.. Either way while I was trying to figure out why the heck Google News was in my referers I found you a few time’s too so we must be connected somehow then.. We have ourselves a MYSTERY then Bruce!! 😀
        (And good morning to Salem and yourself.) 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A mystery indeed, I love a good mystery though. 😉 and a very good evening to you Sassy. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Agreed!! Love me a great mystery any day of the week! 😉
        And thank you. It’s a rather typical snow filled day here. 🙂
        On another note, I found pictures of that doll I was asking you about. So I’m going to attempt to upload the photo’s…

        Liked by 1 person

      • I look forward to the pics of the figure Sass, I am intrigued as to who it is.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Just uploaded her. Don’t know.. If she was cheap it wouldn’t really matter. But she wasn’t and being I lost her box it bug’s me who made her. I’m still on the road but I just happened to find a few pictures. So when I go home again I’ll have to take some better one’s.. And even though I’m 3 year’s late there’s a lady in the State’s I wanted to give her to.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Believe me my brain is in overdrive trying to puzzle this combined mystery out.. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. No kidding! Lately I’ve been reading a lot about Aquaman on Goodreads and when I saw this pic there I was like “wait a min, where have I seen him?”… It never crossed my mind that he is indeed Khal Drogo! I loved him in GOT and yea, seems like he is born to play super cool heroes!
    Thanks Bruce for sharing about Aquaman 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

