Precinct1313 Recommends: The Last Phantom

Last Phantom 2

I mainly read DC Comics, I grew up living and breathing their fictional worlds since the age of six when I first discovered the phenomenon that is The Batman. At age nine I encountered the amazing Amazon, Wonder Woman for the first time and she quickly became my favourite comic book character of all time, even surpassing my adoration for the Caped Crusader. Over the years I immersed myself in the continuing stories, interaction and camaraderie of the many heroes of DC’s universe. There was one hero though who wasn’t part of DC lore, he didn’t exist in the same universe as Wondy, Bats, Zatanna and all the other characters I love, this interloper into my safe enviroment of a comic company I love was the hero that pretty much started it all, the original masked crime-fighter, the ghost who walks … The Phantom.

Last Phantom 3

Produced by Dynamite comics under licence from King Features Syndicate, the Last Phantom is a modern retelling of the 21st Phantom, Kitridge Walker who forsakes his heritage as a masked crime-fighter, instead choosing to help people of his home of Bengali (aka Bengalla) through his charitable organisation Walkabout. But after his wife and son are killed by forces looking to control Benagali for their own nefarious purpose, Kit must begrudgingly take up the mantle of his forebears and show the world that wherever darkness and evil dwells, the Phantom will be close by.

Last Phantom 1

This retelling of the classic Phantom of old has been rather divisive amongst fans, the Kit Walker portrayed here is very much a different character to the noble and clean cut hero of yore, but that is the point of a modern reboot, to bring the character kicking and screaming into the present and make him more contemporary for new audiences. This book does that and rather wonderfully too, a story of redemption and the honouring of one’s heritage and birthright. This new Phantom may be different from his progenitors, but he still stands for the same morals and precepts of all the Phantoms who came before him. 

Written by Scott Beatty, with interior art by Eduardo Ferigato and the astounding covers by the exceptional Alex Ross and Joe Prado.

Precinct1313 Rating: 4 Amaranthine Clad Heroes out of 5.

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on January 15, 2015, in Comics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’ll have to read this. Seems cool.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is indeed a great read, a different take on a classic character. Wasn’t too sure about it when I first picked it up as I am such a big fan of the original, but it ended up being a well written and immersive reboot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As a DC fan, are you excited about the line up of movies DC has planned for its characters? I very much am. I just hope they take their time and do them right. Marvel spent a lot of time slowly creating the MCU. I just hope DC doesn’t rush it feeling they need to catch up fast. Superman V Batman is one I’m really eager to see.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am indeed very much looking forward to them, can’t wait in fact! Bit of a dream come true really, we’ll finally get to see the other fantastic characters onscreen, Bats vs Supes will be awesome, and the fact that Wonder Woman is making her cinematic debut in that film is amazing, the line up of films is great, especially a Suicide Squad film, with very interesting casting choices, Jared Leto as the Joker … sublime casting in my book, such a great and under utilised actor. Though it’s the Wonder Woman and Justice League movies that I am most excited for. 🙂

      Like

  3. I completely agree. I absolutely loved Ledger’s take one The Joker and was a bit worried about who’d be able to fill his shoe, but I’m worried no more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! You know what, I really need to ask you this… I’m not into comics, I mean I used to read Archie’s when I was young, but I have no real knowledge of comics… I love Batman though as a character… I love him!
    Can you tell me where to start reading Batman Comics… There are so, so, so many… can you please help me out to start with 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think the best place to start would be with the Frank Miller graphic novel called Batman: Year One, which chronicles him starting out on his career as a Superhero. Others I would recommend are: Hush, The Dark Knight Returns, The Long Halloween, Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader, and the more recent Court of Owls saga, all are available as complete graphic novels. Hope this helps 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Those are some great recommendations. BTW, I’ll be watching REC 2 today so I’ll let you know what I think.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

