Precinct1313’s all time favourite comic-book characters..daily countdown.

We will be counting down our fifteen favourite comic-book characters of all time, why fifteen you ask? because there are too damn many we love to only have a top ten! Remember these are ‘our’ favourite characters, I am sure you will have others you feel should have been included, so please feel free to tell us who you would prefer to have in the list and why. So let us begin with….

NUMBER 15 is: The Phantom.

Phantomcomics2

The phantom- the ghost who walks, we wrote a character origin on this very site recently of the Phantom, so we will keep this brief. The Phantom was created in 1936 by Lee Falk for King Syndicates, initially as a newspaper strip. A mythical, believed to be immortal character who has protected the jungles of Bengalla for over four centuries from greed and piracy. Riding into battle on his white steed called Hero and accompanied by his faithful wolf Devil, the Phantom’s adventures are still being published (by Dynamite comics) seventy eight years after his initial appearance!

About ArcaneHalloween

Fanatical about comics, gaming and horror movies....but then isn't everyone?

Posted on June 27, 2014, in Comics and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Glad to see the Phantom on here! In truth, I don’t read enough comics to have an authoritative opinion… I’d give a vote for the X-men, though! Probably the most interesting group of characters I can think of off the top of my head. And maybe Larry Hama’s Bucky O’Hare – animals in space! Wacky!

    Like

    • Love the Phantom, I know of Bucky O’Hare but ashamed to say I have never read any..only animal based comic I have ever read to be honest is a little bit of Usagi Yojimbo, samurai bunnies..you can’t go wrong!

      Like

      • Usagi is sweet, I’ve only got one comic book, but I really enjoyed what I read. Bucky O’Hare has wonderful artwork. It was Michael Golden, I think. Very complex, heavy inks. Like Jose Casanovas, who did some Dredd and Sonic in the 90s.

        Like

      • What a coincidence, I actually met Michael Golden in May at the Bristol comic-con, he signed an amazing piece of Wonder Woman art for me..very nice and talented fellow, have loved his DC comic artwork for many years.

        Like

  2. Wow, Bucky O’Hare, I used to watch that all the time when I was a kid, I remember rushing home from school to watch that, I had forgotten all about him until now! ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

